New and Returning Douglas County Officials Sworn into Office

  • Share:
January 09, 2019

Seven Douglas County officials completed the swearing-in ceremony on January 8, 2019 including (from left to right) Surveyor: Robert Snodgrass; Clerk and Recorder: Merlin Klotz; Assessor: Lisa Frizell; Treasurer: David Gill; Coroner: Jill Romann; Sheriff: Tony Spurlock; County Commissioner, District I: Abe Laydon


Kicking off the New Year with one of the first official actions of 2019, Eighteenth Judicial District Court of Colorado judge, Theresa Slade, completed the swearing in ceremony for Douglas County’s newly-elected Commissioner, Assessor, Clerk and Recorder, Coroner, Sheriff, Surveyor, and Treasurer.

On Tuesday, January 8, officials took the oath of office at the Phillip S. Miller Building in Castle Rock witnessed by family, friends, supporters and County employees.  Newly sworn-in officials include:

  • County Commissioner, District I: Abe Laydon
  • Assessor: Lisa Frizell
  • Clerk and Recorder: Merlin Klotz
  • Coroner: Jill Romann
  • Sheriff: Tony Spurlock
  • Surveyor: Robert Snodgrass
  • Treasurer: David Gill

“The swearing-in ceremony recognizes the journey that brought these newly-elected officials here today, while also representing the beginning of a noble and rewarding opportunity to serve the public,” said Lora Thomas, Chair, Board of Douglas County Commissioners.

The entire ceremony, including remarks by the newly-elected County officials, may be found on Douglas County’s YouTube channel.

Be among the first to receive news as it happens. Sign up here and select your specific news focus and delivery preferences.